Article ID: 184585 - View products that this article applies to.
This article was previously published under Q184585
This article has been archived. It is offered "as is" and will no longer be updated.
When you use the Version Conflict Manager tool to restore the newer versions of files that were overwritten by Windows 98 Setup, the files are properly restored, but the original Windows 98 files may be lost.
This problem can occur if you try to restore multiple files at once.
To prevent this behavior from occurring, restore only one backup file at a time using Version Conflict Manager. You may be able recover the original Windows 98 files that were not backed up properly by using the System File Checker tool. For information about how to use System File Checker in Windows 98, see the following article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
TITLE : Description of the System File Checker Tool (Sfc.exe)
For additional information about Version Conflict Manager, see the following article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
TITLE : Description of the Version Conflict Manager Tool in Windows 98
Microsoft has confirmed this to be a problem in Microsoft Windows 98.
When Windows 98 Setup detects that an existing version of a file is newer than the version being installed, the newer version is automatically replaced with the Windows 98 version and is moved to the Windows\VCM folder. If you restore the newer version of the file by clicking it in the Version Conflict Manager tool and then clicking Restore Selected Files, the newer version of the file is restored and the Windows 98 version is moved to the Windows\VCM folder with a .000 file extension. You can then restore the Windows 98 version of the file if you need to.
If you try to restore multiple files at once, the newer versions of the files are properly restored, but the Windows 98 versions are not moved to the Windows\VCM folder and are lost. This prevents you from being able to restore the Windows 98 versions of the files.