Article ID: 834109 - View products that this article applies to.
This article has been archived. It is offered "as is" and will no longer be updated.
When you check in a document that was previously approved, earlier versions of the document that have already been approved are not visible to users when they connect to the document library. This behavior occurs when the content approval feature and the document versioning feature are enabled for a document library in your Microsoft Windows SharePoint Services site.
This behavior occurs because when you check in a document that was previously approved, the status of the document is changed from Approved to Pending. Items that are marked as Pending are not visible to users until the item is approved. This behavior is by design.
To work around this behavior, approve the item in the document library. To approve the item in the document library, follow these steps:
When you add a new item or when you modify an existing item in a list or a document library after you enable content approval for that list or document library, the item is marked as Pending. Pending items are only visible to the user who created or modified the item and to users who have the Manage Lists right. Pending items are not visible to users until the item is approved. When an item is approved, the item is marked as Approved and is visible to all users. When an item is rejected, the item is marked as Rejected and is returned to the user who created the item.
For additional information about the content approval feature in Windows SharePoint Services, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
825239For more information about Windows SharePoint Services, visit the following Microsoft Web site:
(http://support.microsoft.com/kb/825239/ )Overview of the content approval feature and the approval status of items in a list or in a document library