Description of Default Cluster Sizes for FAT32 File System

Article translations Article translations
Article ID: 192322
Expand all | Collapse all


This article lists the default cluster sizes for drives using the FAT32 file system. The FAT32 file system uses smaller default cluster sizes than the FAT16 file system, resulting in a more efficient file allocation system and the conservation of drive space.

More information

The following tables lists the default cluster sizes used by the FAT32 file system.

   Partition size           Cluster size
   512 MB to 8,191 MB          4 KB
   8,192 MB to 16,383 MB       8 KB
   16,384 MB to 32,767 MB     16 KB
   Larger than 32,768 MB      32 KB

Note that the FAT32 file system does not support drives smaller than 512 MB.


For more information about the FAT32 file system, see the following articles in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
ARTICLE-ID: 154997
TITLE : Description of the FAT32 File System

TITLE : MS-DOS Partitioning Summary
Note This is a "FAST PUBLISH" article created directly from within the Microsoft support organization. The information contained herein is provided as-is in response to emerging issues. As a result of the speed in making it available, the materials may include typographical errors and may be revised at any time without notice. See Terms of Use for other considerations.


Article ID: 192322 - Last Review: June 22, 2014 - Revision: 2.0
kbinfo KB192322

Give Feedback


Contact us for more help

Contact us for more help
Connect with Answer Desk for expert help.
Get more support from