Article ID: 320007 - View products that this article applies to.
This article was previously published under Q320007
This article has been archived. It is offered "as is" and will no longer be updated.
When you manually modify permissions in Exchange 2000, you may find that the permissions are reset to their default values when you perform either of the following tasks:
This behavior occurs if you manually modify permissions at the Exchange 2000 organization level or to the top-level public folder hierarchy (TLH) in Exchange 2000. For example, this behavior may occur when you perform the following procedure:
Note that this behavior occurs only if you reinstall Exchange 2000 or if you apply a service pack to Exchange 2000 on a clustered server. You do not experience the behavior that is discussed in the "Symptoms" section of this article when you apply any post-Exchange 2000 Server Service Pack 3 (SP3) hotfixes to Exchange 2000 on a clustered server.
To work around this behavior, keep track of the permissions that you modify manually, and then reapply the permissions after you reinstall Exchange 2000 or after you apply a service pack to Exchange 2000 on a clustered server.
The following scenario is another example of when you may experience the behavior that is discussed in the "Symptoms" section of this article.
264733Note The behavior that is described in this article does not occur in Exchange Server 2003.
(http://support.microsoft.com/kb/264733/EN-US/ )XADM: How to Enable the Security Tab for the Organization Object