XCLN: How to determine the Organizer of a Direct Booked Appointment

Article translations Article translations
Article ID: 198441 - View products that this article applies to.
This article was previously published under Q198441
This article has been archived. It is offered "as is" and will no longer be updated.
Expand all | Collapse all

SUMMARY

It may be necessary at times to determine who created an appointment in a calendar in which the appointment organizer has Author permissions.

To determine who created the appointment, you must change the default view of the calendar to a table format, and add the Organizer field.

MORE INFORMATION

To change the default view of the calendar, and add the Organizer field follow these steps:

  1. In Outlook 97, open the calendar by clicking File, pointing to Open Special Folders, and clicking Exchange Server Folder. In Outlook 98, on the File menu, point to Open, and click Other Users Folder.
  2. Type the name of the Calendar Mailbox and select Calendar as the Folder option.
  3. To change the view of the Calendar, on the View menu, point to Current View, and click Active Appointments.

    NOTE: The default view for a calendar is Day/Week/Month.
  4. Add the Organizer field to the Active Appointments view.

    In Outlook 97:

    1. On the View menu, click Show Fields.
    2. In the Select Fields From drop-down box, select All Appointment Fields, and the Organizer field will be available in the Available Fields dialog box.
    In Outlook 98:

    1. On the View menu, point to Current View, click Customize Current View, then click Fields.
    2. Select the Organizer field (listed alphabetically), then click Add to add it to the "Show These Fields In This Order" dialog box. Click OK, click OK again, and then click Close.
The Current View will now display the Organizer field, which is populated by the Name of the mailbox of the user who created the appointment.

Views are personal settings in Outlook and will not modify the actual view of the Calendar you are viewing.

If you modify a default view then attempt to change to another view, you may be prompted with a Save View Settings dialog box.
Discard the current view settings....
This option signifies that a change was made to the view. Do you want
to discard it?

Save the current view settings...
This option signifies that a change was made to the current view. Do
you want to save it to another name?

Update the view "Name of View" with the current view settings...
This option signifies that a change was made to the current view. Do
you want to save the settings in the default view name?

Properties

Article ID: 198441 - Last Review: February 21, 2014 - Revision: 3.3
APPLIES TO
  • Microsoft Outlook 97 Service Pack 1, when used with:
    • Microsoft Windows NT 4.0
    • Microsoft Windows NT 4.0
    • Microsoft Windows NT 4.0
  • Microsoft Outlook 97 Standard Edition, when used with:
    • Microsoft Windows NT 4.0
  • Microsoft Outlook 98 Standard Edition, when used with:
    • Microsoft Windows NT 4.0
  • Microsoft Exchange Server 5.5 Standard Edition
Keywords: 
kbnosurvey kbarchive kbhowto KB198441

Contact us for more help

Contact us for more help
Connect with Answer Desk for expert help.
Get more support from smallbusiness.support.microsoft.com